Rock Band is "Dead"? Print E-mail
Click to Vote
(1 vote)
Written by Thomas "CigDangle" Balistreri   
Wednesday, 05 September 2007

[News] [PS3] [X360]  

Today, Harmonix and MTV Games Partner announced that they have partnered with Rhino Entertainment.  Rhino, who holds a huge music collection, has penned a deal with the dynamic duo to bring 18 Grateful Dead master recordings to Rock Band.  Thus far, they have announced five of the tracks that will be included:

  • Truckin’
  • Uncle John’s Band
  • Touch of Grey
  • Sugar Magnolia
  • Casey Jones

Paul DeGooyer, MTV's Senior Vice President of Audio, Home Video and Electronic Games, had this to say about the announcement, “Grateful Dead’s unique fusion of rock, folk, bluegrass, blues, and jazz challenged traditional musical boundaries and pushed the limits of creativity to produce a signature sound that is undeniably their own.  With an enormous legion of fans all over the world, Rock Band will give players a chance to interact with the music of these beloved rock pioneers and experience what Grateful Dead did best - jam from the depths of their souls."

What excites me about this is announcement, is that Rhino is actually a part of the Warner Music Group, which includes a huge list of other labels:

  • Atlantic Records Group
  • Independent Label Group
  • Ryko Corporation
  • Warner Bros. Records Inc.
  • WEA International Inc.
  • Warner Music UK
  • Warner Music Gallo Africa
  • 1967 Ltd

Add to that all the sub-labels of these groups, and you are looking at a large portion of the record industry.  My hope is that the relationship established with Rhino will lead to relationships with all of Warner's other labels.

Be the first to comment!
Please login or register to post comments.

Did you enjoy this article? Please bookmark it onto:
Last Updated ( Wednesday, 05 September 2007 )

< Newer - HP Makes new Gaming PC - Blackbird 002   Chaos Engine is coming! - Older >
© 2007 Generation: Gamerz
GamerPrime robot artwork by Micah Z.